Just Getting Started...Brew Kit Suggestions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ncs3221

Reaction score
I want to get into home brewing, but am not sure where to start. What is the best kit to start with? I want to keep it as affordable as possible, but want to get a kit that will be good and have all the essentials that I need. Thanks for any advice!

I'd probably check out some of the kits offered at your LBS (local brew shop), or try one from either Williams Brewing, Northern Brewer or Midwest Supplies. For an absolute beginner, nothing beats a pre-hopped malt extract kit that comes complete with everything you need and requires very little effort on your part.

Kits like this are designed for newbie brewers or for people that want to save time and energy and like a particular style of beer. Try to pick out one that matches a beer you really like. For example, if you like a nice pale ale, go with that. If you like IPA's, find a nice IPA kit. Just bear in mind that ale beers really brew best at temperatures in the 60's and lagers require colder temepratures below 50 degrees to brew well without funky flavors.

I'm assuming that you have all of your brewing and bottling/kegging supplies, too. If not, there are some great equipment kits for reasonable prices that include almost everything you need but a brew pot. Comparably, they're not that expensive and you'll only need to purchase them once.

I would highly recommend that you find a copy of the New Complete Joy of Home Brewing by Charlie Papizan. It is a great resource to learn a lot about the basics of home brewing right straight through advanced brewing techniques such as harvesting yeasts, building your own mash tun and doing all grain beers.