Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Cold crashing question:

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2008, 12:21 PM   #1
kornbread
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Cold crashing question:

Hey guys,

I keep seeing references to "cold crashing" beer. What is the purpose of this? And they usually seem to be referring to kegging. Is this technique strictly for keg setups? I bottle my beers and I put them in the fridge a couple of days prior to drinking. Is that considered "cold crashing"?

Just curious,

Kornbread

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2008, 12:58 PM   #2
DonkeyShoes
Recipes 

I'm no expert, but I think the cold crashing quickly puts the yeast into a dormant state, causing them to fall to the bottom of the vessel they are in (along with other sediment). As far as I know, this can apply to any container the beer is in; keg, carboy, or bottle.

Putting your bottles in the fridge for a couple of days would do this, as long as you don't disturb the yeast sediment when pouring. I think most people use this technique to get the yeast out of suspension when kegging, since you can force carb your keg and keep the yeast dormant (no added priming sugar for them to feed on).

Keep in mind that I'm still a noob, so I'm sure one of the more experienced brewers here will give a better explanation.

Try this thread:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/showthre...=cold+crashing

Old 07-22-2008, 01:07 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4782 Times on 3477 Posts
Likes Given: 956

You can do that with a carboy too- just stick the carboy in the fridge for a few days, and the beer will be clearer. Usually there is still plenty of yeast in suspension for bottling.

Old 07-22-2008, 01:17 PM   #4
DonkeyShoes
Recipes 

Quote: