Bottom broke out of carboy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I just started brewing over the weekend and I use a glass carboy. Fear ensues after these horror stories. Thanks guys! :eek:

Don't let all the fear of glass scare you away. In 18 years of brewing I have broken zero carboys. I own one 6.5, two 6's, four 5's, and two 3's. I made my own brew straps for all but the 3's, and never use carboy handles. Are the dangerous? Sure. So are motorcycles. But the first rule of riding motorcycles is that you WILL dump it, it's just a matter of when. I handle my carboys knowing it's just a master of time before I break one, so I'm going to do everything right in handling them to delay it as long as I can.

If I could afford it, I might switch to all stainless fermentors, but then I couldn't watch the process like I like to. Glass works best for me. To each his own!

I'm sorry what do those links prove? You posed it as a fact but neither source claims that PET degrades from ethanol exposure or leaches chemicals....

Seriously your worried about leeching chemicals from a PET bottle?

You do realize what damage that alcohol is doing to your body is infinitely worse than any minuscule of plastic you may get over years of using a PET carboy?

Obviously dont ferment in a lead container or a non food safe bucket, your going to be dead of alcohol poisoning long before you should worry about leeching plastic from a PET carboy.

Also as others have stated, your not posting a scientific document..your posting some guy on a chemistry forum the equivalent of Ask Yahoo.

:mug:

You're right; maybe I shouldn't have stated it as absolute fact. I guess I've just seen enough evidence to convince myself against using PET. No need to get all defensive.