All my brews are stopping short of their estimated FG... thoughts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lordmaple

Reaction score
So,

I've been homebrewing for about six months now. I'm on batch five.

My first batch was NB's Caribou Slobber; as expected, my first beer came out passable but not anything to brag about. Final Gravity was around 1018. (Predicted was 1012). OG was 1046.

Next I did NB's Milk Chocolate Stout; predicted was about 1018. Mine came out to about 1022. OG was 1046.

Then I made a Pale Ale; this FG also came in a little high, at 1016. (Predicted was 1010, OG was 1054)

At this point I started to wonder if I was doing something wrong. I was particularly concerned that I was measuring the beer's SG incorrectly. So I bought a Refractometer. I also started a different method of pitching my yeast, namely, rehydrating it in the fashion recommended in How To Brew, and I started to use the books recommended "Churn" method.

When I bottled my Honey Weizen, I tested the beer using my Refracto (I had the original gravity handy), and then did the "adjustment" calculations, and my beer came out to 1008. I was delighted; I thought to myself, man , I'm really glad I bought that book, it finally got me down to to the "magic" number I've been hearing so much about.

Then I cracked one open and drank it yesterday. "Man... this is... sweet." I thought, just a little too sweet for being at 1008. So I poured some of the beer into a cylinder, waited for the gas to bubble out, and then dropped in the hydro.

1018???