went to lhbs very negative about coopers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yes I have, although it is still one of the things I am reading through... have to get around to printing off sections so that I can peruse it while at work :D Atm I am poking around this site and jumping in where I am tempted to. I fully expect to be redirected, so please continue to do so!

As I sit here and drink my Coopers IPA I find this discussion really interesting. I am guilty of buying kits to start my homebrewing and thinking that was homebrewing was. It certainly was what my Dad did for years. In fact he asked if I was using Coopers when I started brewing (all of 3 months ago). I am not even sure if my LHBS sells hops or any of these other things one should have for actual homebrewing. If it weren't for the internet I wouldn't even know what I was missing!

So, some questions if I may? I am finding that my IPA has an unexpected taste. I had passed it off as a hoppy bitterness, not being very used to hoppy beers (evil commercial beer) but now I am wondering if it is more the "twang" that was mentioned that is more associated with the kits? At this point it has been in the bottle for over 5 weeks, so still not aged a whole lot, but also not very green.

I read in the link that Revvy posted that one could boil the malt from the kit (the extract? Must go find a dictionary of terms, I am sure there is one here in a sticky :D) and that would probably cause it to lose the hop bitterness, but that then could be added back in. Am I missing anything in that? Hmm... maybe if somebody could just point me at the "how to brew for dummies"

Either way the dozens of Coopers I have brewed will be drank, and they have inspired me to start looking to step up my brewing.