The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > What to do with this water.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2013, 11:42 PM   #1
KingKlong
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default What to do with this water.

To be to the point, I have 10 gallons of distilled water that I am wondering if I can make any use of. I have read many threads, and didn't see this question answered.

Could I use 5 of them along with five gallons of regular water? I know for all grain I need some minerals in the water. I'm just wondering if the entire volume needs the minerals or if some is enough.

Other options would be to try and exchange the 8 unopened gallons, add minerals to it based on what I'm brewing which I have no knowledge of how to do, or use it instead of tap water for my sanitizer.

All input is appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2013, 11:46 PM   #2
afr0byte
Recipes 

Liked 66 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingKlong View Post
To be to the point, I have 10 gallons of distilled water that I am wondering if I can make any use of. I have read many threads, and didn't see this question answered.

Could I use 5 of them along with five gallons of regular water? I know for all grain I need some minerals in the water. I'm just wondering if the entire volume needs the minerals or if some is enough.

Other options would be to try and exchange the 8 unopened gallons, add minerals to it based on what I'm brewing which I have no knowledge of how to do, or use it instead of tap water for my sanitizer.

All input is appreciated.
What's the mineral profile of your tap water?
Old 03-15-2013, 12:43 AM   #3
KingKlong
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I have no idea. It's winston Salem, nc city water though if that tells you anything.

Old 03-15-2013, 12:51 AM   #4
afr0byte
Recipes 

Quote: