RIMS, HERM, or Infusion?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewagentjay

Reaction score
So,

I'm a new home brewer. I have 4 extract batches of beer and some cider under my belt.

I was told by SWMBO that if I want to go from my dream then to do it...

So I'm doing some ground research before I start the process of opening up a brew pub....( I hope to start a brew pub like Red Oak had in Greensboro NC here in my local area) I have no plans to go to a micro brewery as they have done but you never know.

So I'm studying equipment. I'm going to start into AG now at home. I see the RIMS systems & HERM systems (tree). I read that simple Infusion with a insulated mash tun seems to be what Commerical uses as well as it's simple of the methods.

Is this true? Is it some what true? I figured HBT is the way to get answers.

I did read one post on RIMS vs HERM vs some other tree types.....

Not sure if Infusion was in there.

So any thoughts....

My current plans are to build a AG setup at home or buy a AG setup that I can later use as my Pilot Brew House at the Brew Pub?

Any suggestions?

Side note I'm also debating on bbl size of my brew house for pub... Any thoughts?

Can't wait to get some good feed back. Thanks.:rockin:

Opening a brewery is a huge operation. If you can pull it off, awesome. I'm sure most of us here would love to do it, but we've all found out it's not as possible as you'd think. I heard something like 1 in 5 new breweries fail within a year. BUT...I don't mean to be a downer, so good luck!