Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > "Old" Grains?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2008, 03:47 PM   #1
kinger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default "Old" Grains?

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question...I apologize ahead of time if I'm in the wrong area.

I started brewing 25 years ago, but I've taken a lengthy rest from it for the last five years while concentrating on my wine-making. Just prior to switching from beer to wine I purchased several different grains in bulk. I divided the bags into several sanitized 5 gal buckets, put lids on them, and stored them in my basement. These buckets have been sitting undisturbed for 5 years or so. Should I assume the grain is no longer usable, or should it be okay given the airtight, cool storage method?

Thanks for your help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2008, 03:58 PM   #2
Kilgore_Trout
Recipes 

That's a pretty long time even under the best conditions.

If you really want to try it, I'd make a small mash in a container or something and see how that comes out before doing a whole batch. Maybe even make a small 1-3gal batch to see how it tastes.

Old 12-10-2008, 08:17 PM   #3
SPLASTiK
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts

I'd just assume it's not in the best shape flavor wise and make some starter wort with it. If you have a canner you could make a big batch and can it all for later use as stater wort.

Old 12-10-2008, 09:37 PM   #4
Pelikan
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I know a few guys have told me that grain can last a long, long time assuming air-tight, light-tight conditions, plus cool temps. You very well may be fine. Was the grain whole or pre-crushed? I'd wait for one of the forum big-dogs to chime in before you throw it out.

Out of curiosity, what prompted the switch to wine? Just looking for something different?