NB Bourbon Barrel Porter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BurtonBrews

Reaction score
I just received my NB BBP extract kit in the mail today. I have the Wyeast Scottish Ale Yeast Smack Pack. I have read several threads that indicate that the necessity of a starter with this kit. I have never used a starter before, and was planning on smacking the pack 5-6 hours prior to pitching. For this kit will this be sufficient? Any comments or suggestions are appreciated.

:D

As I recall, OG of this is 1.070ish, so I'd recommend to either make a starter or drive over to Brew and Grow to get another pack of yeast.

Take a look at the Mr. Malty website (http://www.mrmalty.com/pitching.php) for determining your future yeast pitching rate. You may see Revvy state that a Wyeast smack pack is only sufficient for an OG of 1.030 or less, which the Mr. Malty calculations support.

Best of luck.

Mr. Malty says: "The general consensus on pitching rates is that you want to pitch around 1 million cells of viable yeast, for every milliliter of wort, for every degree plato. A little less for an ale, a little more for a lager. George Fix states about 1.5 million for a lager and 0.75 million for an ale in his book, An Analysis of Brewing Techniques. Other literature cites a slightly higher amount. I'm going with Fix's numbers and that is what the pitching calculator uses.

The Math

If you're curious, here is the simple math to calculate the number of cells needed. For an ale, you want to pitch around 0.75 million cells of viable yeast (0.75 million for an ale, 1.5 million for a lager), for every milliliter of wort, for every degree plato.

(0.75 million) X (milliliters of wort) X (degrees Plato of the wort)