Why a stir plate???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DPBISME

Reaction score
So I have been brewing for 12 years and made the leap to all grain brewing a year ago.

I brew 10 gallon batches and use Nottingham a lot... two packets for 10 Gallons of wort.

I now am really trying hard to:

• brew beers true to style
  • Take good notes to reporduce the process/beer
  • Learn something new each time I brew

I now have a question as to why folks use a stirrer-plate wen making a starter?

1. Why can't i just cook the starter on the stove.
  2. Cool it down
  3. Pour it in to it's container
  4. Aerate
  5. Cast the yeast
  6. Shake it up

The only advantage I see is that if you do eveything in "flask" is sanitation.

Am I missing something?

DPB

Why you use a stir plate is different than doing things with a flask. Two entirely different items - as I boil my starter in a pot and pour into the flask but I use a stir plate. Stir plates really help increase your overall growth and density. Check out Mr. Malty for more information and do some searches on this site. Key is stir plates are used when you're using liquid yeast – if you're going to use dry yeast they aren't appropriate.

From what I understand, I do not own a stir plate, but it helps keep the aerating the starter, giving the yeast more oxygen to reproduce.

Yeast starters are only recommended for liquid yeast, as the cell count isn't as high as a dry yeast.

Alternatively, you can just shake the crap out of it every time you walk by. This is my method. I make good beer with it.