Apple

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ineednfnname

Reaction score
Hey everyone. First time posting here, so I'm hoping to learn things.

I started brewing 8 months ago, and I've done a few batches, some pretty great, some not so much, and I've learned as I go.

Question I have is I want to do a wheat-ish beer with hints of apple and maybe cinnamon. I've decided to try it with the Brewers Best Kolsch recipe.

I've read on other forums and just through google that some people add apple cider to the 2nd fermentation (absolutely no preservatives). Wondering if that's the right way to go about it, or if anyone has any advice.

Also, when to add the Cinnamon, and how much?

Also, My local brew supply store sells Brewers Best fruit flavoring extract. Does anyone have experience with that? Because they do make an Apple variety.

Thanks everyone.

I prefer to add the cinnamon to the end of the boil. It doesn't take much...1-2 sticks depending on how strong you want it.

I would stick with cider instead of flavoring extract. The cider I always find is heat pasteurized and ends up cloudy anyway, so heating or not heating it doesn't matter to me. I wouldn't put it in a secondary...if you normally use cold water in your kits you could substitute some of that with the cider. Ferment it in the primary with your beer all at the same time.

Welcome to the forums and to getting creative and stretching your brewing skills.
I'll offer my opinion, and hopefully others will chime in here too.
You've got to decide which direction you want to go with the beer. Wheat-ish and Kolsch are two different animals. Either style of beer would work with apple, as would sour and something more caramel tasting like an American Amber.