Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Techniques > Madness in my Method?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2005, 11:09 PM   #21
Mindflux
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janx
Meaning add all the grain to the tun and then pump hot water in through the false bottom?

Pump...I've been putting off adding one for many years since I burned out my last one...very handy when they're working, but best not to count on them in my experience
Yes sir. Just like that. As the water rises through the FB/Braided hose/whathave you.. the grain absorbs it.. the folks who use this method do not usually need to stir to keep dough-balls from forming.. SUPPOSEDLY this leads to less heat loss in the transfer as well (like when I dump 3 gallons of hot water into my MT it lets off a lot of steam).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2005, 11:11 PM   #22
Mindflux
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janx
Do you find your efficiency is much better batch sparging than...whatever the regular way is called?

I tend to do the regular "flow" sparging until I get 3/4 of my volume. I then shut off the sparge and add enough hot water to the mash to cover it. I then start heating my kettle. Once it's about 10 degrees shy of boiling, I drain the mash tun into the kettle to collect the remaining 1/4 of my boil volume. The runnings are always much sweeter for a brief period after this "rest".

I haven't bothered to measure my efficiency in a long time...I'm not into that aspect of brewing. But, it does seem to be more efficient to do at least this "hybrid" method of sparging just based on tasting the runnings.

When I first started brewing, no one even talked about batch sparging...

Cheers!