alternative to Brewtek CL-50?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gbarron

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi folks, I'm new to the board -- posting at least! I've thoroughly enjoyed reading messages on the board the past few months and if I had had anything to add to any discussion, I would have registered sooner. I've been brewing on and off for about 10 years now. Anyhoo, had a quick question.

I've run across a recipe I'd like to make and it calls for one of the old Brewtek yeast strains, the CL-50. I know this company is now defunct (although you can still obtain slants from places). Could anyone suggest a YeastLabs and/or Wyeast alternative to the CL-50? I'm assuming I should use something like the Wyeast 1056 or Whitelabs WLP001 or the 041 (Pacific Ale), but wanted to see if anyone else had other suggestions. Basically I'm going for something along the lines of the Pacman yeast . . . .

TIA!

i'd go with the Wyeast Pacific Northwest Ale yeast. it's available year round. i think the White Labs is a platinum version with a limited release that comes out in early spring? i have a brew fermenting w/ the Wyeast Pacific Northwest ale right now. looks yummy!

I receintly made two batches of austinhomebrew's Roque Mocha Porter clone (mini-mash), one using WL Cal. Ale V per their recommendation and one using Nottingham dried yeast. No one who has tasted the two batches can tell any difference. However, since they did recommend WL Cal. Ale V, I would assume they believe this to be close to pacman.

gbarron said: