Opinion Needed...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cajun_Tiger33

Reaction score
I think they'd all work fine. My Taprite makes my life easier...

I can only say I like my taprites, but I don't have any other brands. My brother in law has a cheapy regulator that I occasionally have to adjust, and I hate it. However, a good regulator is one that works... in the end as long as it lets you control your CO2 you're good!

Gartywood said:
I'd get the first one

Have you had any experience with it?

I'm a college student so money isn't just flowing in, I don't want to go out and but a regulator and in a few weeks it just be total crap and have to go buy a new one...

Have you had any experience with it?

I'm a college student so money isn't just flowing in, I don't want to go out and but a regulator and in a few weeks it just be total crap and have to go buy a new one...

So why would you be considering the more expensive no-name brand, over the industry leader in beverage gas dispensing?

I sort of had limited funds to spend, too, and decided to go with the taprites. My thought process was similar. "Buy once and be happy" - in buying brewing gear I think the best advice is to envision your ideal gear and get that.

It can be hard. Right now I do all grain. But don't have the boil kettle to do it right. So I boil in multiple pots. The other day I saw a good deal on an 8 gallon pot at the store, but didn't get it because I want to do 10 gallon batches and knew I'd just upgrade it in a few months when I could afford it. So I'll wait until May when I can get a keggle or pot set up (still on the fence) and a burner.

So, my advice: get something high quality.