Yeast for 1-Gallon Batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

violinguy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm brewing a couple of test batches in the next few weeks, and I'm wondering about yeast usage. In the past, I've always used half a pouch of Danstar or Safale dry yeast for a 1g batch, but a recipe I want to do should really use one of the Bavarian Wheat strains from Wyeast.

Can I pitch half a container of that or should I stick with dry?

Thanks

I would make a 2l starter with the liquid yeast. After cold crashing and decanting, pitch the amount needed into the 1 gallon test batch. Save the rest in a small mason jar in the fridge for your full batch.

Thank you. I have zero experience with yeast starters, but eventually I'm going to have to do it. For now, I'm going with Mangrove Jack Bavarian Wheat dry yeast. When I make this in larger batches, I'll switch to Wyeast, that is, if I don't absolutely love the dry...:)

Thank you. I have zero experience with yeast starters, but eventually I'm going to have to do it. For now, I'm going with Mangrove Jack Bavarian Wheat dry yeast. When I make this in larger batches, I'll switch to Wyeast, that is, if I don't absolutely love the dry...:)

Dry yeast is certainly easier, as long as it gives you the flavor profile you're after.

Here's an alternative take on using liquid yeast.