Wort Chilling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brew703

Reaction score
I started brewing 2.5-3.5 gallon batches using a 10 gal kettle. Eventually will move to 5 gallon batches which is why I bought a 10 gallon kettle.

Problem I am encountering is cooling the wort down in a reasonable amount of time. I have a 25' IC but it's useless for batches under 3 gallons. For a 3+ gallon batch I have to tilt my kettle in order for the IC to sit low enough to cool the wort.

For batches between 1.75-2.95 or so I have to transfer the wort to my 3 gallon kettle or split between my 2 and 3 gallon kettle.
It normally takes about an hour to get the temps down to 70 degrees using an ice bath. If I transfer to the smaller kettles, I boil water for 20 min or so in the two smaller kettles, then turn off the heat and cover. When it's time to transfer, I dump the water and hit the pot with starsan then transfer using a sanitized tube. Once that is done the pot goes into an ice batch until it reaches 70 degrees. Frozen water bottles are changed as needed.

Is there any harm in doing it this way? I would like to be able to get the temps down within 30 min but it just hasn't happened. I also tried placing the 3 gallon kettle into the freezer to chill rapidly. That has helped somewhat but still takes over 30 minutes to chill down to 70 degrees.

Thanks.

You could try and reshape your IC so it has a greater diameter = fewer coils = sits lower in your wort

You could also look into buying a plate chiller or a counterflow chiller that would cool your wort inline on the way to the carboy.