Working on my first recipe (a mild)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EarlyBirdBrew

Reaction score
So a new brewery in town, Jester King, has a Oak barrell aged Mild that the SWMBO loves and I am somewhat fond of. So I figured I would work out my own recipe and see what happens. Here is what I have so far (Partial Mash):

3lbs DME
1LB Marris Otter
.75LB Crystal Malt 60L
8oz Belgian Caramel Pils
8oz German Chocolate Wheat
4oz Belgian Biscuit Malt

1oz Goldings @ 60 Mins
White Labs Nottingham Ale (WLP039)

My main question is do you think that the chocolate wheat is just to out of place or might throw everything off? Any other suggestions?

Please be gentle as this is my first attempt at a recipe and only my 7th batch.

If you're using light malt extract, I find that 8 oz of chocolate malt in a 5.5 gallon recipe is pleasant for a dark mild. 8oz of pale chocolate malt is a good option if you're worried about it being too much or too harsh tasting.

Midfielder5..any reason on why no wheat?

I generally lean towards darker beers, that's why I chose DME over LME.

Wheat really isn't to style -but it could a nice twist. If you added it for head retention I would exclude using it, as English beers are generally lightly carbonated and usually don't have much for head - besides the crystal malts in the recipe should do a good enough job for that anyway.

From their website...

The base beer, Commercial Suicide, is a blend of 70% dark mild and 30% dark mild aged in medium toast, Kentucky oak barrels (new barrels, not whiskey). At 3.3% ABV, we set out to pack as much flavor as possible into a true session ale. The malted barley and hops in the beer are all English. Here are the ingredients and specs on the base beer:

OG: 1.041
FG: 1.016
IBU: 18
ABV: ~3.3%
SRM: 18