Why won't gas go into corny keg?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GodOfThunder

Reaction score
This is going to be a dumb question, but I’m trying to keg up my beer and can’t get the gas into the keg. I’ve never used a corny keg before, but I’ve used Sankey, so I have some idea of what to do.
I put the plastic adapter thing on the keg and turned the gas on and nothing goes into the keg. I’ve messed with the pressure and everything else, but it won’t go into the keg. Am I missing something really stupid?

If I unscrew the top of the plastic adapter (which you aren’t supposed to unscrew), the gas comes out of the adapter and starts going into the keg.

Sounds like the poppet valve on your keg is somehow stuck. Can you push the center piece on your post down?

This is going to be a dumb question, but I’m trying to keg up my beer and can’t get the gas into the keg. I’ve never used a corny keg before, but I’ve used Sankey, so I have some idea of what to do.
I put the plastic adapter thing on the keg and turned the gas on and nothing goes into the keg. I’ve messed with the pressure and everything else, but it won’t go into the keg. Am I missing something really stupid?

If I unscrew the top of the plastic adapter (which you aren’t supposed to unscrew), the gas comes out of the adapter and starts going into the keg.

You have ball lock style corny kegs? Your plastic quick disconnect is gray, correct?

When you hook it up to the "in" side of the keg, no gas goes in at all? What do you have hooked up to the "out" post? Anything?

Yes, it is ball lock. I have nothing on the "out" post.

What could I use to push down the center pin? I just don't want to break anything.