Whirlpooling with heating coil in boil kettle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Village idiot
Reaction score
I'm currently building a electric system with 20 gallon Blichmann kettles and 5500w ripple elements. And I would like to add the Brewhardware.com whirlpool port.

Is whirlpooling still possible with the element in the way?

I was thinking that if it was, moving the wort back to the mash tun to whirlpool there?

I'm new to brewing, btw.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hasn't caused any problems for me. I think whirlpooling with the ripple elements is fairly common here.

Hasn't caused any problems for me. I think whirlpooling with the ripple elements is fairly common here.

Awesome, thanks!

You start the whirlpooling after flameout and then just let it rest a little bit before running it through your chiller?

What is the "HLT" in this system actually doing if it doesn't also have an element?

Cheers!

Sorry, I was meaning mash tun. I fixed it lol.

I whirlpool with this setup. I recirculate through counter chiller for a few minutes (with a "dash" if coming water as needed) and then back in through whirlpool fitting in the kettle, all while monitoring temperature in kettle. I then turn on controller in this mode to maintain temperature and whrlpool at fixed temperature. Hops collect in the center just fine.

I whirlpool with this setup. I recirculate through counter chiller for a few minutes (with a "dash" if coming water as needed) and then back in through whirlpool fitting in the kettle, all while monitoring temperature in kettle. I then turn on controller in this mode to maintain temperature and whrlpool at fixed temperature. Hops collect in the center just fine.