Which starter kit?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LindaW

Reaction score
Hello there.

My and my friends we like beer. A lot. :) So we recently came up with the idea to make our own beer. I started doing some research and I came across this forum. So I'm a total noob and I'm hoping to get some advice from you guys.
I already read some of the (beginners) guides and posts here and now I'm really excited to get started.

I think, for convenience sake, it is good to use a starter kit. I guess there are plenty of them out there. If found some DIY-sets from Coopers, Northern Brewer, Midwest Supplies and More Beer. They, more or less, contain the basic means to get started.

My questions is which one is good to start with? Right now we're 4 people. We can easily spend 60 to 80 bucks each. So in total it will be about 240 to 320$. Therefore we should get a decent kit. Right? So the price doesn't matter that much.
Later on, if we like it, it would be good if we can extend the set and try out some new things and recipes.
For the amount we are talking about at least 5 gallons. Otherwise, I think, it is not worth the effort. I mean we are 4 people.

So what do you think? Are there any recommendations for (starter) kits? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

L.

IMO, this is about the best starter kit out there for the money:

https://www.morebeer.com/products/premium-fermonster-homebrew-starter-kit.html

It comes with almost nothing you don't need, and almost everything you do need. Since your resources are $240-320, this leaves you with some spare change for other items you may want to improve your brewing experience.