Where to start?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edvard_Grieg

Reaction score
If all of this is in some giant FAQ/primer somewhere that I blindly missed I'm happy to 'RTFM' if someone can point me to it :) Right now I just don't know what I don't know, I'm happy to read guides if someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm completely new to the beverage distribution end of things and trying to quickly understand what's what. I'm remodeling our basement and putting in a wet bar and obviously some beverages on tap would be a plus! The space can accommodate either something in the counter (standard depth) or behind the wall as the bar will back to an under stairs storage area (easy to stash equipment back there).

I enjoy beer quite a bit, but I'm more for variety and not a frequent drinker, so much of what I drink is bombers, so the setup would likely be for a small keg of a sessionable beer or two, and then I'd want to do 1-2 more taps for seltzer water and/or soda...so likely 2-4 taps total with the seltzer/soda likely getting the most use.

I'm cost conscious, but this does not need to be a budget build either. If there are prebuilt systems that can do all this turnkey that might work well...I looked at NitroBrew as tossing a small keg of Velvet Yeti on nitro in the winter does sound great.

So some of my key questions...
what are pros/cons to undercounted vs behind wall?
What should I expect for maintenance?
What would I need to do to for seltzer/soda? What's involved in swapping this out? From my reading it looks like the water at least can be done in a keg or inline, what's the pro/con? How do you make the soda?
If I wanted to hire someone to do this, who would I look for (I'm guessing this is out of scope for most plumbers)