When to add fruit.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trombly128

Reaction score
When should I add dried elderberry to my batch? I have read a lot of negative things about elderberries in beer brewing. Any thoughts would be really helpful as i am dead set on using them.

I've experimented with elderberries that I picked (fresh) and ended up putting them in with about 10 mins left in the boil. I didn't notice a huge flavor profile from them, but I only added 2 cups of fresh crushed berries. I'm interested in throwing some in my mash and boil and see what happens...

I have very little experience with brewing with fruit and no experience with elderberries, but my understanding is that it is best to add fruit post primary fermentation.

I've made a couple of strawberry blondes. In those brews, I let the beer ferment in the primary for a couple of weeks then racked the beer into a secondary with my strawberries. Adding the fruit in the secondary instead of the boil helps keep the flavor and aroma in the beer.

Someone mentioned that they used a couple cups in their beer and they didn't get much flavor or aroma from it. I've never actually tasted elderberries, but I'd imagine that a couple cups isn't nearly enough. For a point of reference, in my strawberry blondes I added about 7lbs of strawberries for a 5 gallon batch. So that should give you an idea of how much fruit you'll need.

If it where me, I would rack the beer on top of them in the secondary. Since they are dried, I would also boil them to make sure they are nice and sanitary beforehand.