whats the best available software? Beer Smith?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewB2Brewing

Reaction score
I'm new to all grain brewing and looking to purchase software to develop recipes, etc. Is Beer Smith the best available? Can it be shared? or is it a licensed program that is only available for one PC?

A BeerSmith license is good for 2 installations, although I'm not sure how much/if they from on two people sharing it.

+1 for Beersmith

Although Brewtarget is free. The interface isn't quite as good and it doesn't have quite as many features, but it'll get you there.

You should look into Brewer's Friend. It's web based so you can access it on any computer and smartphones. The paid version is like $10/year so it's very affordable. It has tons of calculators and support as well.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/

You should look into Brewer's Friend. It's web based so you can access it on any computer and smartphones. The paid version is like $10/year so it's very affordable. It has tons of calculators and support as well.

I'm a big fan of Brewers Friend. I like how I can access it from any computer, smartphone, tablet etc with one yearly cost. It is also user friendly and has lots of calculators and other tools.

The brewers friend is $10/year, is there a yearly fee for BeerSmith? Being web based is pretty attractive idea.

The brewers friend is $10/year, is there a yearly fee for BeerSmith? Being web based is pretty attractive idea.

No, one time payment. They're always doing deals, as well.

There's also the ability to upload your recipes to a cloud server to access anywhere. I have it on my computer and home and work and play with it, upload it and then pick up where I left off.