What happened to my brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thetick

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I’m relatively new to home brewing and decided to play around with a SMASH brew to experiment and learn. I’ve never created a recipe before, but I had leftover ingredients and an online recipe builder so I gave it a shot. Here is the recipe (1 gallon brew):

1.75 gal Water
1 lb Golden Light DME

30 Minute Boil (I ran out of propane in the middle of the boil, so it ended up being more like 40 minutes after getting everything back up to temp.)
.25 oz Cluster @ 20
.25 oz Cluster @ 0
US-05 Yeast

According to brewers friend, I should have gotten an OG of 1.045. Mine was a measly 1.030. Really curious as to whether you all have any thoughts as to what happened?

Final note: the boil-off calculation may have been a bit off as I got a little more than a gallon (< 1.25 gal), but I didn’t think that was enough to cause the large OG difference — was it?

Thanks!

According to brewers friend, I should have gotten an OG of 1.045. Mine was a measly 1.030. Really curious as to whether you all have any thoughts as to what happened?
How did you measure the gravity and when? Did you cool the sample and/or adjust for temperature?

1.045 is correct for 1 pound of Briess Golden Light DME in 1 gallon of water. But every little bit of extract that didn't make it into the kettle and every little bit of extra water will lower the gravity.

It looks like you started with too much water for a 30 min boil.

1 lb DME (45 PPG) in 1.5 gal water will create a wort that's approximately OG 30.

1 lb DME in 1.25 gal water will create a wort that's approximately OG 36.