What grapes would do well in a beer? Looking for your expertise.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Calder

Reaction score
HI, this is my first time posting in the wine forum. I make a lot of beer, and am very active in the beer forums. I had a few commercial beers recently that have had some grape juice added and have been impressed, and want to research this further by making a few of my own beers with the addition of grape juice.

I have no idea what different grape juices add to the final product. I'm thinking of using somewhere in the region or 30% (maybe more, maybe less) grape juice in the product, so it will be significant. I really have no idea what different grapes are available. When I look at what is available, there seems to be so many.

1) First question I have is: Why not just use concentrate from the local supermarket. Is it really that different? Of course it is different, but what do the different juices/grapes available bring to the table?

2) Next question: What does wine yeast bring to the table. I'm looking at something in the region of 8 to 10% abv as a final product. Ale yeasts do fine to that level and bring an array of flavors. I'm probably looking at a Belgian yeast with fruit or spicy flavors. What would I gain by using a wine yeast. What do wine yeasts bring to the party.

3) If supermarket concentrates are out (I suspect they are). what is the difference in juice supplied by different companies. I see a great difference in prices for similar grape concentrates. Also, where would one recommend buying grape concentrate. I'm figuring I'll buy a 5 gallon wine kit and split it between a few batches. MoreWine seems to be reasonable, especially since there are no taxes or shipping costs for kit wines.