Weird Kegging Issue?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewart194

Reaction score
So this is my first time kegging. I've received a lot of really good advice from everyone at HBT, YouTube, BN, NB, and other sources before doing it. Also, after almost 2 years of brewing and plenty of batches under my belt, I also feel like I'm starting to get a good grasp on that and my beers are turning out better and better all of the time.

But kegging my first batch, I did 5 gallons of Coconut Stout and 5 gallons of a Winter Warmer of sorts...an Imperial Stout with Christmas spices. Both brewed the same day and also kegged on the same day.

Here is the strange part, today is day 13 for both of them. Neither of them are carbed up as much as I'd hoped at this point, but I'm patient and know that it can take up to 3 weeks to get fully carbed. I did the "set and forget" method with 12 PSI on both of them from the same CO2 tank. They have both been progressing exactly the same...until today.

Today when I tried a sample of both, the Winter Warmer was pouring at a MUCH faster rate than the lower gravity Coconut Stout. Neither one of them has much head yet, but the flow rate was noticeably much better than the other.

Why would this be happening? Both pour fine, but one is pouring MUCH slower now all of a sudden compared to the other...and they were both pouring at the exact same flow rate yesterday.

Thanks!

Just now, the Coconut Porter has all but stopped flowing completely, while the Winter Warmer is still flowing perfectly fine.

Is it possible your line is clogged on the Coconut porter?