Water prep

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frontiercdk

Reaction score
Hey guys,

It is my first time to adjust water. I would like to treat a quantity of water a little more than required for the entire process (mash and sparge ) to meet my target profile. Then adjust the ph with acid to get it within the range for the mash and sparge.

My questions:

Is it ok to treat the entire quantity of water this way?

I know the mash needs to be around 5.2, but what would be a safe range for the sparge ph?

5.2 is a bit low for mash pH. At room temperature 5.4 - 5.6 seems to be the favored range.

The goal in water treatment is the same for mashing as it is for sparging: to have the water's alkalinity with respect to the desired mash pH be 0. Thus it is fine to treat the entire volume of water at once. Now do take note that most people have not accepted this philosophy as yet and continue to consider mash water and sparge water separately. Also note that it is not enough to set mash and sparge water to the desired mash pH. That takes care of the alkalinity of the water. But you must take the grain into account too. The way to handle this with the popular spreadsheets is to acidify the entire volume of water to be used to mash pH and then tell the spreadsheet that alkalinity is 0. In most of them that means entering 0 in a box labeled 'bicarbonate'.

Man... I love this site!

Thanks ajdelange for the help.

To expand on what my plan is:

I purchased a rodi filter. I loaded the base water profile into beersmith with zeros and ph to 7. Entered the profile I want and beersmith gave me the additions. I am expecting the water ph to still be a little high after treatment. I plan to use lactic acid to reduce it. Sound ok?