Water Chemistry Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm just getting started with AG brewing, so I'm looking to get my water situation figured out. The main concern that I'm having at the moment is the rather significant fluctuations found in my water report. The max numbers are way out of range, but some of the measurements in the range of numbers would be acceptable. Would I be better off just starting with distilled water and building on that?

• Calcium 20-270
  • Total Hardness 48-375
  • Sulfate 2.5-40
  • Sodium 4-104
  • Chloride 3.4-160
  • Alkalinity 18-275
  • PH 5.6-9.8

If you can drink it from the tap, brew with it. I was obsessed with honing my water chemistry but then I relaxed and found that my beer was damn good without jumping through those hoops.

If you really want to dial it in, scrap the county, town or city water report and send a sample to Ward Labs for analysis. Then you know exactly what is coming out of your taps and you can dial it in that way. Your area's water report is far to vague to work from.

You could also use RO water and build a profile, either way... working with water is a headache that you could possibly avoid if your tap water is drinkable and not super hard or soft.

They are pretty damn vague. It seems like the prices for Ward Lab are pretty reasonable. However, if the levels fluctuate as much as they appear to, wouldn't getting a water report be kind of futile as well? I've managed to make at least one batch using tap water. It was BM's Centennial Blonde (delicious, BTW), and it doesn't seem to have any off flavors.