Water adjustments for Scotch Ale, boil down technique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewDawg79

Reaction score
I have recently caught the home brew "water bug" and would like to start monitoring/controlling pH during the mash. I am brewing a Scotch Ale (Skotrat's Traquair House Clone) this weekend and would like to use Bru'N Water (FYI, I am a total noob at this) to hit/maintain optimal mash pH. When entering the recipe in Beersmith I noticed that the predicted SRM is low for the style (between 8 - 10, if I remember correcly). I think the predicted SRM in the recipe ranges from 12 - 22. This variation is in part due to the fact that the recipe calls for 1 gallon of the 1st runnings to be boiled down to 1 pint (or so). The resulting beer is dark and malty, but the means by which the color is achieved is through a "caramelization" and not necessarily from a lot of roasted malt. In fact the recipe only calls for 1% roasted malt and 99% Golden Promise (Pale Ale 2-row). I guess my question is, how should I approach water adjustments for this beer? Recipe and my Ward water report listed below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Batch size: 5.5 gallon

Recipe
Grain Bill
16.5 lb (98.5%) Golden Promise Pale Ale 2-row
0.25 lb (1.5%) Roasted Barley

Hops
1 oz No. Brewer @ 45min
0.5 oz No. Brewer @ 35 min

Single Infusion Mash
90 min @ 154

Predicted OG: 1.085
Predicted FG: 1.020

Yeast: Wyeast 1728

Notes: Boil down 1 gallon of 1st runnings to 1 pint and add back to main boil.

My current water profile below. All values ppm.

Sodium, Na 4
Potassium, K 2
Calcium, Ca 8
Magnesium, Mg 2
Total Hardness, CaCO3 28
Nitrate, NO3-N <0.1
Sulfate, SO4-S 1
Choride, Cl 7
Carbonate, CO3 <1
Bicarbonate, HCO3 10
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 8

Thanks.