Vinyl flavor from Calcium Chloride?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheMerkle

Reaction score
I'm not so new to brewing but I'm still fairly new to water chemistry.
I recently brewed an IIPA with RO water and added small amounts of calcium chloride, calcium sulfate, and magnesium sulfate as per BrewCipher. I cleaned and sanitized equipment with tap water from a backyard hose. Nine BJCP judges have tasted the beer and 6 did not detect it, but two said there was a mild vinyl/plastic off flavor, and the ninth said it tasted like licking a br and new pool floaty.

I've been doing my homework and ive spotted recommendations to only use carbon filtered/campden treated/RO water for rinsing and sanitizing, but I've used hose water for that purposes in the past.

Is it even possible for high levels of chlorides from the brewing salts to cause these flavors? Perhaps they compound with my rinse water problem?

Is it possible that the flavor is residual from the rinse water from the hose?

Have you ever taken a drink of water from the garden hose? Especially in the summer, after the water has been in the hose in the sun?

I really don't think CaCL is the issue.

What is the source of your brewing water? If that came out the hose then I think that's your problem.

If the hose water is just for cleaning then I think it's less likely but who knows.

Could just be phenols from a wild yeast infection.

I also posed the question on another forum, and it definitely seems reasonable to suspect the hose water, even if only used as rinse water, to be the culprit.

I've never tasted PVC from a beer to which CaCl was added. I use it pretty much every time I brew. I add it back in to RO water with some CaS04 for flavor.