(Total newbie) Fermentation chamber / ice cooler to avoid bugs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Nino

Reaction score
Hi guys, I can't really say I'm new at this yet, because I'm still waiting for my starter equipment in the mail :)

However, my biggest concern with starting is attracting cockroaches. I live in an apartment complex that is literally right in the middle of the jungle, so no matter how clean I keep my place, there's going to be the occasional visitor passing through.

Now, I finally decided to take the plunge and get into brewing, but I'm worried that my place is going to attract a lot of roaches. To put it into perspective, I once left a couple of empty beer bottles out in the kitchen after a night of drinking, and found 3 roaches there (I'm sure attracted to the smell of that craft brew I was drinking).

If I'm fermenting beer for 2-3 weeks, I could only imagine how many would show up. Nevertheless, I've been researching a lot of ways to possibly contain it so that it wouldn't attract any bugs.

So a possible solution that interested me was a fermentation chamber. I only need something really small-scale because I'm only brewing a gallon batch. I was wondering if an ice chest with a couple of frozen water bottles would work? And do I have to worry about the CO2 building up in the ice chest and blowing up if it's totally covering the carboy / airlock?

I figure an upside of a fermentation chamber would be already making better beer, but my main concern is not attracting the bugs to my place. Would this work?

Last edited:
Gotta ask first, where are you from that your apartment is in the middle of the jungle???