To do a second fermentation or not to do a second fermentation...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LWes

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to making wine. For a couple of years I've been getting these simple 1-week wine kits that always gives a great result. But that was in Sweden, and now I live in Canada. So I bought a 4-week wine kit for the first time; it's a white wine if that matters.
Well the instructions are much more complicated than any wine I've made before. You're supposed to do a second fermentation in a carboy, and then transfer it into a second carboy.
I don't have a carboy, I just have the bucket for the primary fermentation. So my question to you experienced wine makers, is should I buy a carboy and all this stuff (I really don't have a lot of money), or can the wine still turn out alright without that?
What happens if I just leave it in the primary fermentation bucket until the fermentation stops?
I'd appreciate any advise. The brand of the wine kit is "Vino Italiano" if anyone has used that.
Thanks!

Howdy LWes. I am a winemaker for a winery in Washington State, read your post and thought I would comment. The secondary fermentation they are probably talking about is malolactic fermentation, which converts the malic acid in your wine to lactic acid. This makes the wine both less acidic, and gives it a little smoother/fuller mouthfeel. It can also add some buttery flavors to your final wine. I have never made wine from a kit before, only from the real deal, so I am not exactly sure on how those (kits) work.