Tastes the same!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

omarf2002

Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing. Just did my second batch. The first one was an extract kit for an IPA. The second was an extract kit for an Oktoberfest. I used ale yeast on both. They taste very malty. Almost similar. There is an obvious change of taste as the IPA was maltier. But... The 2nd batch (Oktoberfest) tastes almost the same. Any suggestions what could be happening???

Can you provide more info about your process and recipe? An IPA should be hoppy so it's sounds like could be something to do with hops whether it's amount, freshness or schedule.

Sent from hell
using Home Brew

I looked at a couple of places and here are the specs for the True Brew IPA below. Multiple places had these same specs.
The hop schedule is 1oz pilgrim at 45 min and 1 oz cascade at 1 min. Another site had First gold hops as the late addition. Same AA% though. I figured that to be in the low 20s on IBU with a partial boil of 3 gallons. That was using an average AA% that brewers friend plugged in for those hops. This beer has no right to be called an IPA or to be sold as one.

India Pale Ale Specs:

Starting Gravity: 1.052
Final Gravity: 1.014
Estimated ABV%: 4.98 %
IBU: 17.5

A blonde ale I have going right now has more IBUs

Yeah, the IBUs on that are way low. Need more hop additions in the boil. You should have a very noticeable hoppy difference with the IPA. I've notice some of the kits I've done in the past are a little light on hops for my liking.

That's why I try to steer people away from kits and more toward designing their own or cloning a commercial brew. Especially with IPAs, most kit recipes are quite mild/plain compared to what a lot of us are used to.