Stuck fermentation on a lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doithead

Reaction score
Hi guys,

this is my first post. I apologize in advance if I am in the wrong forum. I am not a beginner - I started kit brewing back in 1994, then moved into original extract recipes and brewed some great beer. I bought an old frig, cornelius kegs and started lagering, kegging...then I started brewing all-grain beers. I was never a great troubleshooter, but I brewed up outstanding beer.

Due to a move, a marriage, two kids, etc., I all but stopped this awesome hobby/way of life. Well, I decided that I was getting back into it and brewed an extract Munich Dunkel one week ago today (Tuesday, Jan 6.).

Here are my problems: A) being rusty, I didn't have my thermometer so I don't know the temp when I pitched the yeast (although i am positive that the temp was not too high - on the contrary it might have been too cold); b) I used a wyeast activator munich lager yeast strain, but did not make a starter; c) because I don't know the temp, i could not get an accurate OG reading on the hydrometer, but it read 1.057 or so (too high for the style, i believe); and d) I am using an ale pail for the primary, and I think the lid won't seal well, because the lock never showed any activity

It has been fermenting at approx. 52-55 degrees since pitching. Although there is no lock activity, I removed the lid after 72 hrs and saw activity. Last night I took a hydrometer reading and it read about 1.038 at 52 degrees. There was still a foam on the top, and it smelled good - no sourness or rotten egg smell, so I don't think it's ruined.