Spigot or Siphon

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Knotquiterite

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at brewing with a Coopers brew kit. I decided not to use the Lager ingredients that came with the kit and went with a robust cocoa porter. I am about 7 days away from bottling and I notice that the yeast cake is sitting close to the spigot and I am worried about carrying the yeast into the bottle. This might be a fools question but would it be better to tilt back the rack to allow for the yeast cake sit to away from the spigot or siphon across to another rack and then bottle?

For this being my first brew, I am wanting to do it right. Thanks for any input.

Knotquiterite said:
This is my first attempt at brewing with a Coopers brew kit. I decided not to use the Lager ingredients that came with the kit and went with a robust cocoa porter. I am about 7 days away from bottling and I notice that the yeast cake is sitting close to the spigot and I am worried about carrying the yeast into the bottle. This might be a fools question but would it be better to tilt back the rack to allow for the yeast cake sit to away from the spigot or siphon across to another rack and then bottle?

For this being my first brew, I am wanting to do it right. Thanks for any input.

If you are going to tilt it, do it soon. That will give the yeast time to shift and resettle.