southern folk brewing outdoors

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrislehr

Reaction score
how do you beat the heat. I have passed on brewing several nights now due to heat. My g/f wants to get the garage insulated/ac'd but then I need electric burners!

how do you beat the heat. I have passed on brewing several nights now due to heat.
I started brewing in the night and can't beat the heat with two gas burners running, keeping the hot water supply heated, mash tun or brew kettle going. The inside temps currently range from 99°F -105°F with fans running.
Last week it was 110°F outside.
My g/f wants to get the garage insulated/ac'd but then I need electric burners!
Our garage is insulated and the A/C can't handle the heat load during brewing.

Cool beers keep me going and this crazy hobby.;)

Cheers,
ClaudiusB

drink more beer!!

just kidding. kind of. it was about 100 last weekend when I brewed. I just try to stay hydrated and stay organized so I can be done as quick as possible. August is going to be no fun....

Theres not much you can do about the heat in the summer, I just ***** & whine:fro:

If its not ballsweating hot-n-humid then its raining buckets.

You could do what some northern folks do in the winter to beat the cold and brew some partial mash/extract batches on the stove top inside. Or you could do the all grain but instead of doing the full boil outside using propane, you could split it into two batches and do it inside on the stove top.