some n00b questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sloppyjoe

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new in these parts... I've got a few questions.. I tried searching but couldn't find anything so here goes nothin.

1) Irish Moss, does it add any flavor to the beer? I ordered some with my kit but wanted to ask here if it would add any flavors to the beer that I may or may not want.

2) Does it matter how much yeast is added? My question specifically is this... I am considering brewing just a half batch.. so should I only add half my yeast? or should I add the whole thing? Seems kinda like a silly question but I'm just wondering if it matters.

Thanks much

-J

sloppyjoe said:
Hello, I'm new in these parts... I've got a few questions.. I tried searching but couldn't find anything so here goes nothin.

1) Irish Moss, does it add any flavor to the beer? I ordered some with my kit but wanted to ask here if it would add any flavors to the beer that I may or may not want.

2) Does it matter how much yeast is added? My question specifically is this... I am considering brewing just a half batch.. so should I only add half my yeast? or should I add the whole thing? Seems kinda like a silly question but I'm just wondering if it matters.

Thanks much

-J

1 - no - just for clarity
2 - pitch the whole thing!!

Brewing Honey Brown Ale Extract Version from Nothern Brewers... I hope it won't be too difficult for a first..

Great, I'm really looking forward to it..Thanks for being so helpful.