Simple question i cant find the answer to

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philipsheperd

Reaction score
Ok i have a very simple question that I cant find the answer to, I started brewing with mr beer and have loved every min of it, but now i want to move onto big batches, cause honestly i drink beer faster then i brew it, and i was looking at a mr beer kit cause about 20 dollars for two gallons, and kits online are about 30 dollars for five gallons, so totally worth the upgrade

but my question is on a fermenting bucket, is it ok for them to have a tap/drain/whatever on it, or should it not and then i need a siphon to get the beer out?

A tap would be easier so i could just bring my racking buck with priming sugar dissolved in water over on my wheeling cart and pour it in there without having to move the bucket down from the shelf where i have my fermentor sitting

so anyone have an answer and why please?

Best to rack it over to the bottling bucket with a siphon (autosiphon is easy and fairly cheap). The reason is you don't want to aerate the beer at that point, it causes oxidation which may taste like cardboard. Also the spigot is a potential difficult spot to sanitize. So just go with a plain food grade fermentation bucket for a primary. Glass carboys in the 6.5 gallon size are better yet, in my opinion.

EDIT: when you siphon you can do it fairly "quietly", so it introduces less air to the beer than would draining out of a spigot into a bottling bucket.