Should I poke the Krausen?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seyahmit

Reaction score
This is my second extract brew. I boiled this hefe this past Saturday. I was going to take a hydrometer reading tonight to see how the fermentation was going. While I was prying the lid off the bucket, I kept getting whiffs of a bad smell. I got the bucket open and was treated to this sight after 5 days in the primary.

krausen.jpg

This is a about a two inch thick Krausen. Should I skim this off or let it fall back into the beer when it is ready. This is my first time using the bucket. My first beer and my other batch are in a carboy with blow off tubes, so most of this stuff went into the blow off bucket. I’m guess the nice beer smell is somewhere under that stuff.

Do I leave it alone for a while or do something about the Krausen?

First thing you should do is put that lid back on. :D

Just let it go. When it falls back in, you know it's ready for the secondary...

I did put the lid back on. I only had it off long enough to clean and sanitize the lid and airlock.

Are you using a top cropping yeast?
I'm brewing an American Wheat with Wyeast 1010 yeast ("a true
top cropping yeast" they say). I use a bucket for a primary.
After two days I popped the top and saw something similar to this
http://www.hbd.org/uchima/yeastzone/topcrop.html
So, I poked the yeast back down.
I think Mike Uchima makes a reasonable case on his web page to
do the poking down -- after all, he says,
For yeasts which behave like this, it is a good idea to agitate the fermenter once or twice a day, when fermentation starts to slow. If this is not done, the beer will take a very long time to finish fermenting out, since most of the yeast is up in the foam, instead of down in the beer doing its job!