Should I Dry Hop IPA Again After Unstuck Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

merrydown

Reaction score
TL/DR: After restarting a stuck fermentation for an IPA that had been significantly dry hopped already, I am wondering if I need to dry hop a second time.

----

I am a newbie in beer terms, I have made a fair bit of wine in the past.

I made my first kit an Evil Dog Double IPA kit a few weeks ago. This question/story is about my second batch though.

I made a 2 can kit IPA I found here: http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/sh...ad.php?t=20223 The poster said he fermented down to 1.008. Sounded like a few people tried it and it was good, so I thought I'd have a bash. Foolhardy or ambitious :)

With the same ingredients and brands, my OG was 1.052 Unfortunately for me, the fermentation stopped/stuck at 1.020.

I had figured it was almost stopped so dry hopped at 1.020 rather than leaving it to 1.010 as I had before. I used about 50g each of Citra and Centennial as I like a hoppy and bitter IPA.

After 3 days I recovered the hop bag and tested the SG again pessimistically. It was still at 1.020.

When I realised it wasn't going to ferment any futher without help I tried:
-Agitating it. No change.
-Adding yeast nutrient. No change.
-Adding a stuck fermentation yeast Gervin GV7 - recommended to me by my nearby brewstore. It's a hardy, but non-killer wine yeast that will ferment ale sugars, even maltotriose (although very, very slowly). No change though.