Secondary ferment in sanke keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shantron

Reaction score
Hi there awesome brew forum!
I am a newbie to brewing and have been searching around for answers but can't find exactly what I'm looking for. Here's a set up I've been thinking about but not sure if it will work:
1. primary ferment in bucket or carboy
2. Rack to sanke keg with plug and blow off for secondary ferment. Note: I'd like to get the conversion kit but need to hold off on that for now.
3. Cut the sanke spear, insert and force carbonate

So my questions are:
(actually just thinking this over it probably won't work.) Will it work to just use the sanke secondary fermenter to dispense? Now, I'm thinking this might be a bad idea since any jostling might mix the yeast layer build up.

For those that ferment in kegs, do most do the entire ferment in the keg or is it still necessary to do some primary/secondary set up?

Thanks for any advice!

Sorry, don't mean to bump my own thead but have been reading more and I think I have my questions answered (kind of.) Looks like I also posted this in the wong category...whoops.
Seems like ther's a few schools of thought on this and I **think** I'll try this:
Primary (ferment) in bucket
Secondary (condition) in carboy (14-16 days total between primary and secondary or until FG is correct)
Rack to keg and either carbonate or natural condition with priming sugar (still torn on this)
No need to cut the spear since the first few pours will pull out the yeast

I know that racking increases oxidation chances so this does have me concerned.

Other option seems to be:
Go straight to keg as primary
No secondary
Condition in keg
CO2 carbonate or natural with sugar
First few pours will get rid of yeast