Sanitize Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bush_84

Reaction score
This may sound like a silly question, but may save me some work. So I don't have enough secondary containers at times to rack directly into another carboy. So I often times have to sanitize my bottling bucket, rack into the bucket, clean/sanitize my carboy, and rack back into my carboy. I'm still a newb, but the thought came to me that maybe I don't need to sanitize my carboy if I'm putting the drink right back in. Usually I'm just racking to get off the lees anyways. So what do you think? Can I just rinse out the carboy and rack it directly back in?

My first suggestion is that you don't need to rack to a secondary.

The only reason I ever rack to a secondary is if I want to wash and reuse the yeast from the primary, before I dry hop...just to keep all the hops debris out of it.

There's really almost never a reason to use a secondary.

If you still want to use a secondary, though, yeah you could probably save a few minutes not sanitizing the primary and it'll *probably* be okay, but you've already invested quite a bit of time and money in the batch of beer, and there is a greater chance that you will have a contamination problem if you don't sanitize the carboy, than if you do sanitize the carboy. If it were me, and I was hell bent on using a secondary, I would sanitize.

The only reason I ever rack to a secondary is if I want to wash and reuse the yeast from the primary, before I dry hop...just to keep all the hops debris out of it.

There's really almost never a reason to use a secondary.