Rectangular BIAB kettle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to BIAB brewing but not brewing others may have more for you...

Anything that holds water could be used for a kettle, but will it make a good kettle? You did a good job welding up the SS and all your fittings however they may be a few things to consider using a rectangular kettle.

Cleaning... are your welds REALLY smooth on the inside or are there holes/rough areas that will catch and hold wort-hops-grain? The corners will also present a huge challenge at cleaning time.
You might be thinking it's a boil kettle so cleaning isn't as critical but "junk" left in there will eventually lead to off flavors in your beer.

Whirlpooling... I can't imagine getting a good whirlpool going in anything but a round kettle. My hydrodynamics are a bit rusty but I can see trub build up in the corners as you whirlpool the wort. That said it might benefit you as the highest concentrations of trub will be away from your "line out."

Will it work? Sure and if that gets you started in this obsession, go for it! I do think in the not too distant future you will be looking to "go round!"

Don
Primary #1 - Joe IPA clone
Primary #2 - APA
Kegged - nothing :-(
Bottled - Oatmeal Stout, APA, Rye IPA

Thanks for the response. How much trub will I have? If I keep the grains in a the bag then use a hop bag for hopping. I have a port in the bottom of the pot for after washing out I can drain it.