Recipe Opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

upheaval

Reaction score
So I brewed a pretty basic Galaxy Hop Saison, and now that It's all said and done I'm a bit worried that I should have added some sort of orange peel or coriander. Opinions???

I just started brewing AG this month and have already brewed 5, all of which I just added my own ingredients without any help. Im dreading my decision to do so and fear that all my brews will be eh... That being said, here's what I brewed.

27.4 IBUs , 6.1% ABV

Grains:
11lb Pils

Hops:
.5 Galaxy at boil
.6 Galaxy at flame out

Other:
1lb Candi Sugar last 15
4oz Honey last 5 min

Yeast:
Wyeast 3724

Well the yeast is the main thing you need to get right in a Saison and you used one, so you're good there. I prefer 3711, but 3724 is just fine too. Sure, spices and other ingredients are traditional, but aren't 100% necessary. You could always add something to the secondary. Maybe a little zest, coriander, or other spices.

Thanks for the reply... I actually used 3711 in my Hibiscus Farmhouse that's sitting in a carboy as well.

So you think I'm ok as far as the recipe goes?

Thanks for the reply... I actually used 3711 in my Hibiscus Farmhouse that's sitting in a carboy as well.

So you think I'm ok as far as the recipe goes?

It is a little on the plain side, for my tastes with only Pils malt and simple sugars. I like to use some wheat, rye, oats, etc. And I usually add some sort of spices or zest. Not all of these of course, but some combination.