question about strawberry wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tattooist83

Reaction score
Hello, i'm a newbie here and have a question about a batch of wine i made. first off, im not new to the homebrew process, been at it for a little while, mostly distilling and beer brewing. my question is, i recently made some strawberry wine using real strawberries (i usually use store bought juice). i juiced the berries and went on with the normal process. during the process i would taste it once a week, tasted great, the problem is, the longer its sets in the bottles, the worse it tastes, it tastes more like a "hooch" and less fruit flavor, is this normal? ive never had any problems with any other juice ive used.

How long has it aged? Jack Keller's Strawberry recipes suggest at least 6 months...up to 18 months.

There are several things that could cause issue. If using a juicer you may have cracked and also juiced the seeds on the strawberries. This adds more of a bitter flavor. That is why I just prefer to freeze my berries and add them to the carboy/brew bucket whole. Also I always thought strawberry wine tasted better with some sweetness. It brings out a lot of the flavor with just a little sugar or honey. Have you stabilized and back sweetened or is this dry? Also the "hooch" flavor could be fusel alcohols which can come from a lack of added nutrients, a hot fermentation or overly stressed yeast. Some yeast cause this more than others so knowing the yeast used would help diagnose this.

Those are the only things I can think of. Hope that gives you some ideas.

The only answer I have is here...

Strawberry wine and seventeen
The hot July moon saw everything
My first taste of love, oh bittersweet
The green on the vine
Like strawberry wine