Porter -questions on hops and smoke

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davel57

Reaction score
I'm pretty new at this and I have a couple of questions on a Porter I want to brew.

First, the beers I've brewed so far have not ended up with enough hop flavor. They seemed OK at bottling, but lost too much by the time they were ready to drink.

I though I'd try "hop bursting" on this one. I started this recipe with just the Goldings. I haven't used them before, but I understand they are pretty mild. Will the hop bursting bring plenty of flavor? (I like hops). Should I stick with just the Goldings in this recipe, or add a bit of Ahtanum (which I just happen to have) to get a litle more flavor(see recipe). Will Ahtanum conflict too much with the Goldings?

Also, originally I wanted to make this a smoked porter, but the smoke grains all require mashing. Should I add a little (1/4 tsp) of Wright's Liquid smoke (in 3 gallons)? Should I try smoking the grain in my pellet smoker? Or just go without the smoke?

Porter

Original Gravity (OG): 1.061 (°P): 15.0
Colour (SRM): 39.3 (EBC): 77.4
Bitterness (IBU): 41.6 (Average)

62.26% LME - Munich (Northern Brewer)
14.15% Dry Malt Extract - Light
9.43% Special-B
4.72% Black Malt (Simpsons)
4.72% Carafa II malt
4.72% Honey Malt

0.2 oz/Gal Ahtanum (5.2% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil)
0.5 oz/Gal East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil)
0.5 oz/Gal East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

WLP007 - Dry English Ale

I tried hopbursting in an IPA for the first time a few weeks ago, it seems to give a really nice flavor and aroma, but I hear that it fades fairly quickly.