Portable BIAB Setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcgster

Reaction score
I'm looking for some advice from experienced BIAB brewers.

I have a 15 Gal eHERMS setup for my main brewery but i just found out i may be moving away for 10 months, back for 2, then away for 10 again. Clearly my brewery will not be able to move with me and i don't want to give up on brewing so i'd like to build a somewhat portable eBIAB setup.

My initial desire was to build a system to do 5 gallon batches, but given the size of a pot i would need to accommodate all the grains i'm thinking that would be a 10 gallon pot which really wouldn't be portable at all.

I have never done BIAB before but it seems like it would be the way to go for portability. Since i have started doing all this research on BIAB i'm thinking I may switch over my 15 gal system.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thanks

I've been doing BIAB for a little over a year. I started out with a turkey fryer (8.5 gallons) and switched to a 15 gallon kettle after a couple months. Big beers can be a little touch and go in the 10 gallon kettle, unless you hold back some of the water when mashing. Also, for 5 gallon batches, boil overs are pretty much a non-issue in a 15 gallon kettle.

The larger kettle may make it more of a challenge to maintain mash temps due to the air space left under the lid, but I do OK with a couple layers of reflectix and an old comforter. Hasn't been a problem for me.

I like to make the occasional 10 gallon batch too, so it's nice to have the extra space then.

I know you said you wanted portable, but the 15 gallon route seems so much easier to deal with on brew day...