pH discrepancy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjm13

Reaction score
Hi all,
I posted this in the brewing software forum, but doesn't look like anyone is reading that today, and I'm brewing tomorrow. So, sorry for the duplicate post, but if anyone knows the answer, that would be great!

Hi all,

I just input my recipe into bru'n water, and brewer's friend, and got 2 very different mash pH estimations. (I'm a nurse and a bit of a control freak, so I check everything at least twice) Bru'n water predicted 5.1, and brewer's friend predicted 5.45. Which one is right? I keep going back to see if I entered something differently in one of the 2 programs, but I don't see anything. It seems no two programs, web sites etc give the exact same instructions or predictions, which is fine, but this is a really big difference.

Which one should I trust? Or should I split the difference and go from there?

Any and all input is welcome

thanks!

If you're not actually measuring the mash pH at room temperature then the calculators are only educated estimates so it is not possible to be a control freak only using these. If it's your first brew I would split the difference.

I've only recently started to use both and have got similar results between the 2 but maybe you found something. Could you share your inputs so that folks could try to determine what you are seeing?

Hi all,
I posted this in the brewing software forum, but doesn't look like anyone is reading that today, and I'm brewing tomorrow. So, sorry for the duplicate post, but if anyone knows the answer, that would be great!

Hi all,