Pet Peeves

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryat66

Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 3 years. I absolutely love the hobby, the camaraderie and the passion to share in a common goal, make great beer! Most of what I've learned has come from these very forums although I step out on the ledge quite often since everyone has their own way of doing things. However, there are a few things that bother me about brewing discussions and quite often I find us using generalities about important details. I'm guilty too! Here is a list of things that bother me:

• using the weight of hops instead of the AAU's for a recipe
  • giving a recipe without the design efficiency %
  • making a fixed yeast starter size for every batch regardless of batch size or OG
  • stating a fermentation temperature without qualifying ambient or liquid temperature (this burned me big time early on in my brewing!)
  • asking recipe questions by assuming that every batch is 5 gallons
  • asking about the length of fermentation (I've never had the same beer ferment exactly the same amount of time)
  • using a set amount of priming sugar without respect to the variables that affect the desired carbonation level (maximum temp during ferm, CO2 level for the style, etc.)
  • unaware of starting water's makeup (why not just use RO or distilled and build to a specific profile?)

I know...there is no way to ask this question through the Internet without sounding like a jerk but in a hobby where we're attempting to achieve a desired end result, why are people so willing to overlook the details?