pasteurizing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justbill

Reaction score
Hi,
New with question:
I am just getting started. After doing simple hard cider with store purchased pasteurized cider and yeast, it seem like something I will dig a bit deeper into.
My first batch was simply yeast and sugar into the store bottle, waited 5 days, then mason jarred and put in the refrigerator for about a week. it was good enough that I want to invest in some stuff to do better.
My question is on pasteurizing. Was what I did above, safe? I did not pasteurize after fermenting. I thought that not be necessary because the containers were sterile and the cider was already pasteurized and fermented in the original container.
thx.

I didn't pasteurize either of the two batches I did last season. Zero issues with either. We're talking about ~6 gallons of finished cider here. I don't bottle condition/carbonate, so I could have tried to pasteurize, or stabilize IF I wanted to.

Personally, I don't see any need to go through pasteurizing the finished product. You want pasteurized cider (base) so that you don't have to fight the chemicals they use to stabilize.

Also, I added zero sugar and got a really good product out. Everyone that has tried (either batch) loved it. The spices used made a difference, as did good base cider. I'd suggest NOT using any sugar in your next batch and use a yeast that will help your product finish as desired. First batches were with the Wyeast sweet mead yeast. Which let them finish a little sweet (not too sweet either, pretty much perfect). Came in at about 6% ABV as well. Which means they were easy to drink more than a small amount.